We Are Leif. Support: Will Hobson's Groove Merchants

Sun, March 17, 2019 @ 7:30 pm - 10:30 pm

“ ‘Murmur’ has upped their game. What was already a great band has upped it even further.” – Jamie Cullum.

“. . . clear musical ideas used as the basis for fresh interpretation within their chosen form, and thanks to the singer’s confidence and clarity, the results have an integration that belies the comparative newness of their project.” – B247.com on ‘Breathe’.

“Think back to the 90s Acid Jazz led heyday of jazz influenced sounds hitting the mainstream . . . and you are part way to understanding what these guys are about.” – Tap the Feed

Led by the songwriting team of Louise Victoria and Mark Whitlam, We Are Leif are currently touring to promote their acclaimed debut release, ‘Breathe’.

This group deftly span the balance of contemporary jazz sensibilities with the groove and sound world more associated with Neo Soul, R’n’B and downtempo. Musically there are nods in the direction of Erykah Badu, London Grammar and Jill Scott, while retaining a classic Bristol sound, steeped in the history of bands like Portishead and Massive Attack.

“Blending their improv jazz chops with Neo Soul and grown-up R‘n’B, then giving it a smoky, backstreet club vibe borrowed from Trip Hop and unmistakably Bristolian, with ‘Breathe’ We Are Leif have created something that is reassuringly familiar yet excitingly new,” said Tap The Feed when reviewing the album.

​Between them, the band members have worked with the likes of ECM artists Andy Sheppard and Iain Ballamy, plus Joss Stone, Beverley Knight, Jason Rebello, Clare Teal, Adrian Utley of Portishead, Goldfrapp’s Will Gregory, The Black Crowes’ Mark Ford and Type Sun.

​Louise Victoria (Vocals), Dale Hambridge (Piano/Keyboards), Chris Jones (Electric Bass), Mark Whitlam (Drums/Electronics).


​Supporting are Will Hobson’s Groove Merchants, comprising first year jazz students studying at the prestigious Guildhall School of Music and Drama.

Fronted by former Essex Youth Jazz Orchestra pianist William Hobson, the band members have a diverse range of influences spanning the decades – from jazz’s inception to the modern day. Their support set will focus on groove-based music, playing original tunes alongside other musicians’ compositions, with stimuli including Mike Stern, Robert Glasper, Aaron Parks and Pat Metheny.

Will Hobson (Piano), Francisco Garcia de Paredes (Guitar), Olly Meredith (Bass), Callum Murray (Drums).

Colchester Arts Centre Jazz Club
Church Street (off Head Street) - Colchester